Work & Play: A Liminal Jukebox

imaginaryfriend

Update:

I will for now be using this blog for updates/news (and sharing of research material) rather than for creative work. With one caveat, see below.

The Patreon campaign has stalled at $61. Unless I begin earning income, within a year I will most likely be broke and with a mortgage to boot. My creative output needs to be directed towards that goal as much as possible, which means for now working on The Kubrickon, both the book and the internet memeplex, comic, film, audios, etc, which I hope will someday create a big enough platform for the book to be visible from, if and when it’s done.

I received a couple of kind donations recently from people who didn’t want to commit to a monthly payment at Patreon. So it has occurred to me to run the blog on donations, like a jukebox. If and when a donation comes in, I’ll write a post of suitable length (roughly ten words per dollar, say), like a clockwork monkey who types when someone put a coin in his slot.

Donors can request what sort of blog post they’d like, fiction, nonfiction, poetry, visual media, audio, etc, and on what subject. Or they can leave it to chance, hit a random button on the liminal jukebox, and see what comes up.

This seems like a fair arrangement to me, being both communal and supportive of me, the artist. But if anyone has any objections or suggestions, feel free to voice them.

Regarding a forum, if it looks like there’s enough interest in kubrickon/liminalism, I will install a forum/chat room at kubrickon.com. If anyone has any suggestions or wants to help, let me know.

Regarding the Patreon account, please bear in mind that even a monthly donation of $1 will make a difference ~ if enough people commit to it. I have supported someone’s campaign to the tune of $2 simply as a gesture, because for me gestures count for a lot. And enough of them and they add up to a movement.

Announcements:

new piece in Spanish at Pijama Surf on extra-consensual perception and your imaginary friend the ego (not yet available in English).

A new epidose of the Kubrickon comic over at Patreon, “Adult Boy.”

A summation of the Kubrickon enterprise so far at the website, with links.

That’s it for now, thanks, blessings, & warm winter wishes, till next time we meet

Jasun

22 thoughts on “Work & Play: A Liminal Jukebox

  1. I saw this, real busy so scanned it, wanted to shoot you $7 but didn’t see a button, so hit the title in blue to lead me to a page to find the paypal button…but ?

    ________________________________

      • I still haven’t listened to the part you mentioned, tho I did pick up briefly Mark talking about how we were being tricked into looking at puzzles with no solutions. It’s ironic because MLC is openly (if somewhat privately) hostile towards me after the podcast and said outright in our shared talk that nothing I had said had any substance.

        I’d rather not elaborate on my previous statement (which was kind of petulant to begin with, tho true) because it would end up with my being critical about MLC without him here to respond.

  2. Yes I saw, my response was that Doug Lain is my idea of a good podcast foil, MLC isn’t.

    The tactic of invalidating an opponent and then stealing his ideas, or vice versa, is a known “magickal” one (Crowley practiced it all the time). MLC is a sorcerer: it’s inevitable we’d be at odds because I have renounced the “faith.” (Tho once a sorcerer, always a sorcerer; & I noticed he did cite me on the audio, with apparent reluctance.)

    I could say more but instead I’ll ask you: what makes you think we are well-matched? What would you say are the main differences between us?

  3. You two study the same medium/movies/media but there is a diversion in ideas, though but looking for some “truth” in there you are more of a debunker, and can move on to other ideas after you explored that “project:; he seems more prone to get romantic in fantasy. I really don’t know MLC that much, because there is little material out there from him. Though last podcast he loses points from me by stealing your ideas.

  4. He almost always disagreed with you on that podcast because hes a Kubrick stan. He probes a lot. You did gel on a few things like him realizing a hidden reason why he probably like A Clockwork Orange after he reflective on a childhood moment of his own. Now that you are challenging me to analysis the structure of his work I’m discovering new facets about him. He said wasn’t obsessed about Kubrick, that’s obviously BS.
    I still think tension makes for good analytic growth, as it always keeps you on your “game” so to speak, you won’t miss a step.

    • I didn’t really get what you did from MLC’s “realization” about ACO. I recall he had a weird impression about me which he didn’t like so then he decided just to go back to grooving on the film.

      MLC is apparently deeply conflicted about SK, because he viciously resented being called a Kubraphile, insists that he thinks SK was a jerk, or Satan, or both; but he clearly loves the movies.

  5. Tension is good, friction creates a spark, opposition is friendship. But there also has to be a congruence there, an affinity, and a similarity of interest and method.

    That’s why I said Doug Lain is much closer to a good match.

    Doug is interested in debate, does dialogue very well (MLC prefers monologue), and seems grounded in real world problems (which the more “romantic” lifestyle tends to keep at a pleasantly fuzzy distance).

    trying to be delicate here …

    the main point is that MLC hates my guts now. On the Doug Lain podcast about Siskel & Ebert (http://dietsoap.podomatic.com/entry/2013-04-10T00_41_27-07_00 ), the guest says that good art is all about picking your enemies well. I realized that this has been my unconscious MO. But MLC is an enemy I never picked, just happened by mishandling the situation. I had hoped he’d be an ally.

    Kubrick on the other hand…

  6. I find MLC’s penchant for unfinished sentences and unfinished thoughts difficult to listen too. May be that has a kind of NLP effect on the listener – I remember Darren Brown included many unfinished sentences when he reprogrammed Simon Peg to want a red bicycle for his birthday?

Leave a Reply

