Part Two of mother.strangled Interview, “Down with the Sickness’

socrates

This second part (click on image) is two hours long but split in two by Gefunden’s addition of a musical interlude (Richard Cheese’s Down with the Sickness) – mercifully, as it’s probably best to come up for air before embarking on the second hour. Gefunden & I go back and forth on the eternal questions of knowledge vs. knowing, the false identity, the nature of enlightenment, spiritual practices, [enlightenment teacher] Dave O and (finally) Whitley Strieber.

8 thoughts on “Part Two of mother.strangled Interview, “Down with the Sickness’

  1. Thanks for posting this. I originally thought the idea of engaging with people who basically dissed you (you couldnt really call it a critique) was foolhardy, however its proved to be fairly fruitful. Gefunden seemed a lot more willing to engage in a dialogue here, he appeared kind of hostile in the first part and his ideas too strait-jacketed by non-expressive, academic language. In this conversation, however, his emotional intelligence seemed a lot more apparent and his ideas became more understandable and well rounded. I’d be interested to hear/read more of his work. I also thought his way of talking spurred you on to articulate your ideas with real lucidity. You do seem to think of enlightenment as an end point rather than a direction to aim your reality tunnel towards, Ive been following your work since the Wynd/Crow days and there’s definitely a progression both in the multi-dimensionality of your ideas, the emotional tone of your work and the depth of your influences, so you could say in many ways your output has become increasingly enlightened.

    • Thanks Panda. It seemed foolhardy to me also, but it was “indicated” so I went along. At least that’s my optimistic view, confirmed by indications such as yours.

      How early were you reading? I guess I started CROW in 1996-7. It’s funny, because I have found myself returning to old haunts due to following the Strieber-trail re-opened up by the MS audios, re-entering the realms of paranoid awareness and “Alien Intelligence Design Strategy” and the like, only now with a very different focus, and almost with a disinterested eye.

  2. The first piece I read of yours was “Gnosticism Reborn”, the Matrix essay which I’m guessing was 1999 – that led me to Crow Enterprises, which I read in its entirety. It was an absolutely great website, back in the days when the web was like the old west, it was a great rabbit hole to fall down into. I loved things like Looney Tunes and the Crow Manifesto.

  3. There’s something about the idea of enlightenment I find quite repellant. The Bjork song “All is full of Love” is a beautiful song, but its sentiment is just too much for me however true it is on a philosophical level. Your Crow/Kephas work had such an earthy cynicism and contrary quality, it acted like a fence to prevent falling into that treacly new age abyss, which never rang true for me, because we’re not all one (any idiot can work that one out!) and thank god for that. Life in this place can be real grim and I think maybe at this moment in time accepting the eternal unconditional love of the universe is counter productive to transforming this reality. Maybe.

    • we’ve been tricked; enlightenment isn’t what’s been sold to us but the IDEA of it has been used to sell us down the river into Col. Kurtz’s compound.

      I am far less mystically-oriented and far more earthily cynical now than I was then, believe me (or not).

      so cynical that I wonder what’s left to believe in or to fight for

      and yet – at the end of it all, reality pulses inside these veins and reverberates beneath my feet, bruising my heal

      Reality being what can’t ever be and doesn’t ever need to be transformed?

      at the end of the day, arent we just trying to find a context large enough to frame our trauma?

      positive affirmation of all-is-one-unconditional-love-universe being the hopeful-hopeless attempt to placate the gnawing wound and drown out the bitter & shrill rebel yell of the unloved infant, with the hollow OM of the super-ego

      dissociate, dissociate, dissociate is the harpy croon of the New Age promise of eternal love-life back into momma’s breast and beyond

      There IS a real alternative, that’s all I know and the ache of the unreal is the only thing I can trust in to know it.

  4. “we’ve been tricked; enlightenment isn’t what’s been sold to us but the IDEA of it has been used to sell us down the river into Col. Kurtz’s compound.”

    I agree, I borrowed this meditation tape once, it was lovely twinkly synthesizer music and a calming voice telling me to relax and let go of my ego and my sense of self, we are all one etc and I had to switch it off, it just seemed so incredibly sinister. Surrendering ones identity to the void (or whatever) is a concept I have a lot of trouble with on all levels. Our individual identities are unfolding stories and the idea of cutting those stories off mid-sentence and writing the equivalent of “and they all lived happily ever after. The end.” to be unsatisfying and at odds with the crazy depth and complexity of the universe.

    “I am far less mystically-oriented and far more earthily cynical now than I was then, believe me (or not).”

    I believe you, though at the same time your recent Autism work displays increased level headedness IMO. I always found your concept of Paranoid Awareness a really useful tool for investigating things while retaining a cynical eye.

    “Reality being what can’t ever be and doesn’t ever need to be transformed?”

    I find it hard to think of reality in the singular sense anymore, my own reality tunnel is what it is, its created just by being, alongside my conscious modifications (eg surrounding myself with certain media or trying to learn science and geometry, because objectively I know my knowledge base is lacking in those areas) As I see it our shared reality is a different matter as it feels like its mostly running independently fueled by the overwhelming mass of combined human consciousness and when I feel connected to the trajectory of “reality prime” I can feel quite hopeless, as it often seems to be pursuing a limited, repetitive and nihilistic course at odds with my instinct and intellect. However it maybe makes my reality tunnel stronger through resistance to it.

    “positive affirmation of all-is-one-unconditional-love-universe being the hopeful-hopeless attempt to placate the gnawing wound and drown out the bitter & shrill rebel yell of the unloved infant, with the hollow OM of the super-ego”

    To me, the reason for rejecting it doesn’t cut that deep. People are moving in so many different directions that the one-size-fits-all solution of the “all is one universe” feels wrong on a basic logical level.

    “dissociate, dissociate, dissociate is the harpy croon of the New Age promise of eternal love-life back into momma’s breast and beyond”

    Yes and all “good” mommas want us to eventually stand on our own feet and leave the nest. I don’t think eternal mothering would do as much good (though the notion is scarily appealing sometimes.)

Leave a Reply

